Breadcrumbs navigation

Geniuses and Rivals: When music connects

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00


14. 11. 2016

The third season-ticket holders concert in the jubilee season will bring together principal conductor Ondrej Lenárd and cellist Michal Kaňka, who will perform Foerster’s lyrical Concerto for Cello, which is unfairly overshadowed by the composer’s two violin concertos. It will be preceded by the overture to Wagner’s opera Tannhäuser, based on ancient German legends. 

The second half will deliver one of Haydn’s greatest works, his Symphony no. 102, which is known as the London Symphony and is full of drama, playfulness and unexpected twists, as well as Brahms’ Variations on a Theme by Haydn. 

Richard Wagner: Tannhäuser, overture
Josef Bohuslav Foerster: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, op. 143
Joseph Haydn: Symphony no. 102 in B major
Johannes Brahms: Variations on a Theme by Haydn, op. 56a 

Ondrej Lenárd – conductor
Michal Kaňka – cello 

Admission: 390 / 340 / 310 / 270 / 140 CZK



Show more info