Breadcrumbs navigation

Kabeláč versus Russian Classics

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00


20. 2. 2017

The latest concert helmed by principal conductor Ondrej Lenárd will deliver a combination of Czech and Russian music. The programme will get underway with the 1960s masterpiece Reflections; the sequence of nine miniatures is the work of Miloslav Kabeláč, one of the greatest Czech composers of the second half of the 20th century. 

Next up will be Tchaikovsky’s famous Variations on a Rococo Theme for Cello and Orchestra, performed by the young Hungarian cellist István Várdai, laureate of numerous prestigious competitions. The concert will close with a selection from suites from Prokofiev’s most famous ballet Romeo and Juliet. 

Miloslav Kabeláč: Reflections, nine miniatures for orchestra, op. 49
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme for Cello and Orchestra, op. 33
Sergei Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet, selections from suites no. 1 and 2 

Ondrej Lenárd – conductor
István Várdai – cello 

Admission: 390 / 340 / 310 / 270 / 140 CZK 


Show more info