Breadcrumbs navigation

Mozart – Mahler – Mácal

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00


6. 3. 2017

A rare domestic appearance by Zdeněk Mácal, the former principal conductor of the Czech Philharmonic, who has worked with orchestras in Cologne, Sydney, Milwaukee and New Jersey, will deliver the music of two conductors with Prague connections. 

Mácal’s concert with the PRSO will begin with Mozart’s Symphony no. 38 in D major, named the Prague Symphony after the city where it was premiered.  

The second half will feature the Symphony no. 1, or Titan, by Gustav Mahler, a native of Kaliště in the Bohemian-Moravian Highlands, who for a short period was engaged at Prague’s New German Theatre.  

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony no. 38 in D major, “Prague” K 504
Gustav Mahler: Symphony no. 1 in D major, “Titan” 

Zdeněk Mácal – conductor 

Admission: 390 / 340 / 310 / 270 / 140 CZK 

Show more info