Breadcrumbs navigation

Driven by desire and fantasy

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00


20. 3. 2017

Another concert helmed by principal conductor Ondrej Lenárd will begin with a rarely preformed masterpiece of Czech music of the 1970s – Svatopluk Havelka’s brilliant 20-minute orchestral fantasy Hommage a Hieronymus Bosch, inspired by the bizarre world of the paintings of the Dutch Renaissance artist.  

The first half of the programme will conclude with an appearance by one of the greatest contemporary French pianists, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet; he will perform Ravel’s immensely difficult Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, written for the pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who lost his hand in WWI. The programme will conclude with Tchaikovsky’s programmatic Manfred Symphony, based on a dramatic poem by the Romantic Lord Byron. 

Svatopluk Havelka: Hommage a Hieronymus Bosch, symphonic fantasy
Maurice Ravel: Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Manfred Symphony, op. 58 

Ondrej Lenárd – conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet – piano 

Admission: 390 / 340 / 310 / 270 / 140 CZK 

Show more info