Breadcrumbs navigation

Works for Piano by Philip Glass

Archa Theatre, Na Poříčí 26, Praha 1 - Nové Město, 110 00
Web:, e-mail:
tel.: +420221716333


9. 11. 2016

Performed by Philip Glass and Maki Namekawa.

Philip Glass, who next January will celebrate his 80th birthday, will perform in Prague's Archa Theatre together with Japanese pianist Maki Namekawa. They will play a selection of Glass's solo works for piano, including the latest compositions from The Etudes series.

Philip Glass (1937) is at the vanguard of minimalism in contemporary classical music. His five-hour opera Einstein on the Beach, created with director Robert Wilson, shocked the theatre world in the mid-1970s and made him famous. Besides music for opera and theatre, Glass composes symphonies, chamber pieces and film scores (Godfrey Reggio's documentary trilogy Koyaanisqatsi, Powaqqatsi and Naqoyqatsi, The Hours directed by Stephen Daldry). Three of the feature films that he has composed music for were nominated for an Oscar and Glass's music can also be heard in the arthouse film Reality directed by Quentin Dupieux, currently playing in Czech cinemas.

Glass's concert at the Archa Theatre is no random event. It was here that Glass's legendary performance with poet Allen Ginsberg took place in 1996, and over the next two years Archa presented concert versions of the opera The Fall of the House of Usher. The Czech premiere of Glass's opera In the Penal Colony was performed here as part of a marathon of contemporary music in 2005, and in 2014 Archa was the site of the premiere of the Glass's Symphony No. 3 performed by the Ensemble Inégal.

Produced by: Pomegranate Arts

Show more info