Vítkov Hill, with its densely interwoven network of walking trails, offers a unique view of almost the entire city. The area has undergone major improvements since 1929 when the National Monument was built here. The whole park still exudes an atmosphere of the 1930s, dominated by a bronze equestrian statue of Jan Žižka, one of the ten largest equestrian statues in the world.
Under the reign of Charles IV, they begin to plant vineyards on the Vítkov slopes. Some of them belonged to the Prague alderman Vítek of Hora, after whom the hill has got its name. On 14 July 1420, the Hussite troops led by Jan Žižka defeated the Crusaders at this place and since that time the adjacent area has been called Žižkov.
Throughout the centuries the vineyards were devastated and as late as the 90s of the 19th century František Thomayer was asked to convert a raw hill into a town park. However, the First World War interrupted those plans.
The park underwent major improvements during building up the National Memorial, whose construction began in 1929. There is only low vegetation on the plateau around the Memorial, while the slopes of entire hill are covered with thick vegetation creating out of the hill a monumental green pedestal.
For example, the black locust, Norway maple, tree of heaven, horse-chestnut, small-leaved lime, Turkey oak, white mulberry, eastern white pine, honeysuckle and spiraeas grow there. The access road from the Ohrada is lined by silver maples and in this part there is a dense network of trails along the Vítkov slopes. The park area is 14.93 hectares.