Breadcrumbs navigation

E. Grieg: Piano Concerto, A. Dvořák: Symphony No.9 (From the New World)

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00

  • Music
  • classical music
  • tip


  • Fri 16. 11. 2018 19.30

Grieg's Piano Concerto and Dvořák's From the New World played in the Rudolfinum is guaranteed to be a wonderful musical evening. Greig’s Piano Concerto a-moll, op. 16 will be performed by the American pianist Stanislav Khristenko and the Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra led by Norwegian conductor Aage Richard Meyer. Contemporary musicians will thus affiliate with two concerts that were held over 100 years ago. The performance is held at the Rudolfinium where Grieg himself performed and conducted multiple pieces himself.

Edvard Grieg's piano concerto will again symbolically rejoin Antonín Dvořák's From the New World. composed in the year 1893, at the time when he was a director of a conservatory in New York: this is one of the most renowned pieces of the world symphonic music, truly showcasing his genius. Dvořák interconnects the influences of Czech and American music. In this piece Dvořák explores the hectic city life alongside the nostalgia of the Czech home. The symphony is not only popular in USA and the Czech Republic, it is played with a great success across the whole world. The performance is conducted by the American composer and conductor Dr. Roland R. Davis. As a composer, Roland has gained recognition in many international competitions including previously presenting his pieces at Carnegie Hall in New York.

Show more info