Breadcrumbs navigation

Christmas Oratorio

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00

  • Music
  • classical music
  • tip


  • Tue 11. 12. 2018 19.30

The set of six cantatas by J. S. Bach intended for worship services between Christmas Day and Epiphany is known collectively as the Christmas Oratorio, and it is one of the composer’s most famous works. It is only seldom possible, however, to hear all six cantatas on a single concert and to enjoy the lovely music of this cycle in all of its beauty. The performance of Bach's oratorio will be a special occasion as it is the first collaboration of the Dutch conductor Peter Dijkstra and his Nederlands Kamerkoor with Collegium 1704.

Elizabeth Watts - soprano
Maarten Engeltjes - countertenor
Benedikt Kristjánsson - tenor
Thomas Olimans - bass
Collegium 1704 & Nederlands Kamerkoor
Peter Dijkstra - conductor

J. S. Bach — Weihnachtsoratorium BWV 248

Show more info