Hilo de Ariadna

Czech Philharmonic / New Year’s Eve Afternoon Concert

Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábřeží 79/12, Praha 1 - Staré Město, 110 00

  • Música
  • música clásica
  • consejos

Fecha y lugar del evento

  • mar 31. 12. 2019 15.00

Mostrar información detallada

This year, we have decided to welcome in the new year with you in Czech style with four beautiful works, each of which is original and a supreme musical celebration. Antonín Dvořák, who conducted the very first Czech Philharmonic concert, composed three concert overtures titled In Nature’s Realm, Carnival, and Othello in 1891. Carnival Overture is the most impressive of these works, and it is part of the worldwide core orchestral repertoire. It has a brilliant violin solo in common with Suk’s Praga, which follows. The second half opens with another depiction of Carnival, this time by Bedřich Smetana. Suk dedicated his symphonic poem Praga to the “Royal City of Prague”, while Janáček dedicated his Sinfonietta to Brno. Although the two works share dedications to the two largest Czech cities, they differ entirely in terms of their character and overall tone.


Mostrar información detallada

Information source: www.ceskafilharmonie.cz